Forums

Help › Forums

LET'S BE HONEST

Mon, Feb 27 2017 4:33 PM (2,573 replies)
  • Premed
    776 Posts
    Thu, Jun 4 2015 7:51 AM

What a lovely thread, seems like all cynicism dis-appearers here, I cant believe I haven't stumbled on it before.

So in the spirit of this thread I have a confession to make ........ I am not a real doctor, or a med student or connected remotely in any way to any medical profession.

I say this because I must apologise to the few people that I played match play against who just assumed I was a doctor and insisted on asking me about my studies & speciality choices etc - I should not have allowed them to believe I was a real doc (but it was just a bit of fun). On my behalf I never dispensed medical advice, always advising that without a proper examination I couldn't comment on a persons condition etc..

I was frequently amazed how quickly people were prepared to divulge (without being asked by me) their personal medical issues to, basically a total stranger. In most cases I made the other player aware that I wasn't a real doc. but in a few cases matches were cut short ""unexpected error"" and I didn't get the chance. In a few cases I just didn't have the heart to tell the other player because they seemed to be just so relieved to have somebody to talk to about their condition.

A few that I met had conditions that they hadn't spoken even to their own families about but felt free to be able to talk to a stranger anonymously, and I was happy to be a friendly ear.

So I am not a doctor but I still have a friendly ear and am happy to chat with any player during games, even if that is a case of us comparing our medical conditions because I have a few of those myself.

Happy Hitting

Pre

• bubbsboy
    6,879 Posts
    Thu, Jun 4 2015 8:55 AM