Although I have to say, given some evidence lately, I no longer trust the tie-breaker that much.
Now I may have played more Showdowns than you but a really stupid thing to do ask someone that's won 171 brackets in the last few months would be if they are sure about the rules.
If any ties still remain, the earlier-submitted entry will be deemed the better scoring entry.
Could it actually mean the first person to enter the bracket rather than play the round?! I know it sounds daft but I remember people entering tournaments early, and playing later, as it was advantageous. I'll go for 99.87% sure it's not true this time, not as it's clear but I'm sure you'd have noticed the lower number entry always winning in these circumstances. Actually make that 97.89% as instances may be quite rare.
Lol, I tried looking for the instance you were talking about but needle in a haystack and then some.