Forums

Help › Forums

The Site Police

rated by 0 users
Mon, Aug 24 2009 8:41 AM (35 replies)
  • GSpinks1962
    106 Posts
    Sat, Aug 22 2009 8:16 AM

I totally agree that we need better moderation of these forums, particularly when it comes to some of the responses to the newbie’s posts. Some folks here can be very rude to new folks that ask some of the very basic questions. I understand the workload that comes with such a task as I am part owner and administrator on an on line Sim Racing Site. We don’t have the membership that this site has but it can still be a lot of work. I’m sure this is against the terms and conditions of the site but here’s the link.

• nivlac
    2,188 Posts
    Sat, Aug 22 2009 10:27 AM

Thanks for the nod, Faterson.  I'm pretty sure I'm on the record somewhere saying I'd be willing to help out WGT for free.  I've had some experience with moderation in the past (admittedly not nearly in the same capacity as yourself), but I can do all of those basic things you mentioned.  It wouldn't be terribly time consuming, just a few clicks and a deleted/locked/merged thread once in a while.  There's not that much to do here.  I have rather lengthy experience in sales and customer service, so I understand how to work with the general public in a retail-type environment.  I also understand how a clean, well run forum can give a business a positive public image.

There's a section in the Terms & Conditions about Game Masters.  Typically forum duties would fall on players like this, so hopefully this is something they are considering in the near future.  It couldn't hurt.  I hate seeing all the redundant posts while the real posts with real questions sometimes get overlooked in the clutter.  This game is only going to increase in popularity, which means the forums will see more and more new users every day.  Things are becoming mildly cluttered now, so what will the landscape look like in 8 more months?