Forums

Help › Forums

Club Distances

rated by 0 users
Mon, Sep 28 2009 3:05 PM (22 replies)
  • PBHIII
    1 Posts
    Sat, Jun 20 2009 12:07 PM

Why are the distances on the clubs so short?  I am an average weekend hack and I can hit my Taylor Made driver on average 270 yards.  The US Open isn't even fun with these short drivers.  I think the clubs should be adjusted to tour averages if we play from the championship tees.  The "improvements" to the game have really made it unrealistic.  

• baxter01
    3 Posts
    Tue, Jun 23 2009 2:26 PM

I agree. Not fun at all. As a matter of fact it sucks. Telling me i'm a pro, then i'm not able to reach the fairway off the tees, with a perfect hit, not able to reach the greens with two perfect hits. Give me a break.I'll never upgrade clubs on this sight. untill they fix a few things .

• nineinchnailz
    1 Posts
    Tue, Jun 23 2009 4:51 PM

Absolutely concur.  It's ridiculous.  It really takes away from the game, and makes me think this site is all about adding money so you can shoot low scores.  They should start you out with a driver that you can hit 280, and set the realistic distances with irons as well.

Otherwise, those who spend the most money do best, which is why I don't come here often.

• mckinney2006
    1 Posts
    Tue, Jun 23 2009 11:04 PM

I agree also.  After many tries I was able to put together two rounds of 78 at Bethpage Black using the WGT standard clubs.  Maybe in a year of trying I could post an even par round.   Tough to score when nearly all the par 4s are unreachable.  Also, disheartening to hit it perfectly off the tee and end up in the "deep rough" on number 10 or the "weeds" on number 5.   This is not golf and clearly a design oversight.  Apparently there are some people who scored in the 60s with the standard WGT clubs.  I have no idea how that is possible.   

• DeerRun
    230 Posts
    Tue, Jun 23 2009 11:17 PM

They have alot of work to do here on distances with clubs.  

• thunderbird