Help › Forums

Calculating averages and counting rounds

rated by 0 users
Wed, Dec 5 2018 2:12 AM (19 replies)
  • PAGES
  • cedriccicada
    18 Posts
    Sat, Oct 18 2014 3:07 PM

My average score is shown per 18 holes (currently 77.88 - I'm still a newbie).  I presume that there's some nice simple way to convert a 9-hole round to 18 holes, perhaps not by just doubling my score (what happens if par for the 9 holes is 35?), but something similarly logical.  But what happens with a strange course like best of par 5s?  If I play 18 holes on the best of par 5 course and achieve even par, I've scored 90 for the round.  How does this affect my average?

And you have to play a certain number of rounds with an average at or below a certain value to advance to the next tier.  What is a round?  9 holes?  18 holes?  Does an 18-hole course count as twice as many rounds as a 9-hole course?  

Thanks very much!

RobR

• keidan
    311 Posts
    Sat, Oct 18 2014 5:21 PM

Hi Rob, yes just double your 9 hole ranked round scores to get the number that contributes to your average, so your example of 35 will be 70.  Best of par 3 and 5 courses do not count toward your avg. due to weird pars but best of par 4 will (par 72).  A round of 9 holes or 18 holes counts as a round, the result of the 9 hole round is simply doubled and adds to your stats.  -Keith

• alosso
    21,034 Posts
    Sat, Oct 18 2014 10:18 PM

Counting rounds:

If you are interested you should copy&paste your score history to a local file regularily - it contains 200 scores (including Blitz and CTTH), and no way to retrieve lost history.

From Tour Master on, you might want to note the # of the rated round when tiering up, see your stats. At Legend+, it is a good way to check how far away from saturation your average is.

• brekee
    26 Posts
    Sun, Oct 19 2014 1:49 PM