Forums

Help › Forums

Upcoming Changes...and Thank You!

Fri, Feb 11 2011 2:20 AM (215 replies)
  • UniBooboo
    42 Posts
    Thu, Dec 23 2010 4:54 PM

diablogolf:

I'm new with WGT. I enjoy it except for the fact that while I'm perfecting my game it gets somewhat boring to beable to just play four courses as stroke play. Why not open them all up to stroke play??

There are a couple of reasons.  First its a massive undertaking to make a course. Several hundred thousand pics have to be taken from every possible location you might hit the ball.  Every inch of the course must be scanned both by helicopter and ground level methods.  This is very labor intensive and very expensive, much more so than animating one. Second its quite possible that one or more of the courses could be under contract with other game makers such as EA sports for the right to do include them in their game only.  Third I think WGT is  looking to courses where major tourneys are being played ( so they can do a equivalent virtual tourney ) rather then go back and complete ones like Wolf Creek or Edgewood Tahoe.  Personally I would love it if they did they are both gorgeous courses, but I understand why they wouldn't. 

Since WGT is much more a simulator than a computer game the four current courses should take you quite a while to master - Practice, Practice .......

All that being said when I first started ( there were only two ) I too started feeling the same as you but I found new life and enjoyment by joining games with random people, not playing for money ( although that can add a whole different aspect ) but just to meet new people and see how other people play the courses.  

Unibooboo

P.S.

here is a couple of videos  with Chad Nelson &  YuChiang Cheng that are pretty interesting about how they put the courses together..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oje9ciQHrto

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JmwxDFZknw&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

• StevieD01
    29 Posts