Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Opinions needed?

rated by 0 users
Mon, Nov 16 2009 11:20 PM (7 replies)
  • tubbytubbs
    2 Posts
    Sun, Nov 15 2009 6:39 PM

I just started playing, and just got my Amateur status.  What would be the best first club up grade, driver or putter.  Do you just win money when you upgrade. I got 50 cents.

Tubby

• Soulcatcher
    1,970 Posts
    Sun, Nov 15 2009 6:57 PM

Yes the 50 credits is what you get for advancing tiers.

The redwood putter is by far the best club to buy. IMO.

As for clubs, I would wait until you make pro. My reason is this. You only have 5 ranked rounds. Closest to the hole comps do not count. You average(that is what advances you though tiers) is based the best 10 of your last fourteen. If you continue to play the way you are you will be a pro when you have played 10 rounds. That will open up better equipment as some clubs are restricted to tiers.

Hope this helps.

*edit* If the rapture set is what you are looking for (good clubs) they are available to you now.

• tubbytubbs
    2 Posts
    Mon, Nov 16 2009 3:16 PM

Thanks for the input.  I didn't know if I could get any further with the club I have.  I think I'll wait, but I'm buying a putter first, cause thats where I have the most problems.  Thanks again

tubby

• AlaCowboy
    1,321 Posts
    Mon, Nov 16 2009 3:48 PM

tubbytubbs:

Thanks for the input.  I didn't know if I could get any further with the club I have.  I think I'll wait, but I'm buying a putter first, cause thats where I have the most problems.  Thanks again

tubby

You will like the Redwood putter, but practice with it. And remember this --- the distance is in 15 ft increments, not 30 ft. So reset your distance to 30 ft before every putt.

• danohi50
    1,020 Posts
    Mon, Nov 16 2009 3:59 PM

Go to search  here type in distance putting control. NIVLAC wrote an awesome tutorial on it there.