Forums

Help › Forums

Success without Paying

Sun, Oct 4 2009 10:09 AM (22 replies)
  • PugsAce
    1,825 Posts
    Tue, Sep 15 2009 11:13 AM

I just upgraded my clubs - got the G10 pro set. I didn't realize, as I hadn't seen it mentioned anywhere (didn't actually search for it, either) that the "master sets" aren't available if you've not attained that tier. I'm just a newb here, but wanted to interject an opinion/observation of mine, regarding new clubs (mainly for other newbs here):

Remember this... just as when you begin using new clubs in real golf, you are opening-up a whole new can of worms when you do it here. The max yardages for the clubs, especially the drivers, necessitate adjusting the distance/stroke meter ALOT more than when using the starter clubs, AND the aiming (dragging of the target) becomes a substantially more important exercise.

New clubs make for an almost totally new experience on the courses, so don't expect it to get any easier right off the first tee if you go out and buy the "best" clubs. I was curious about how new (better) clubs would impact my game, because seeing the others here posting low scores consistently, made me think that the game got easier using the better equipment. It doesn't, but it sure makes it more fun.

Granted, the swing meter speed gets faster with the G10's, making it a bit rougher to hit the "ding" consistently, but I just wanted to let others know that there are other aspects that come into play, as well. One of the main reasons in my deciding to go with a "pay set" is that I wanted to be able to find a groove and be able to stick with it early enough in my "career" so that I wouldn't have to suffer a major change later-on. Although I'm new here, I've had ALOT of time to shoot ALOT of rounds and felt it was time for me to take the plunge.