Forums

Help › Forums

Re: LEAVING is RUDE

Tue, Mar 30 2010 1:22 PM (27 replies)
  • jcs89
    172 Posts
    Tue, Mar 30 2010 11:05 AM

I have found that more masters quit than hacks or pros for the simple reason of protecting their average. My last 2 times playing in a threesome, a master has quit.  I actually enjoy playing with an amateur or pro.  They don't get too upset with a few bogeys and are often more cordial and fun to talk to.

• TheAceFactor
    2,147 Posts
    Tue, Mar 30 2010 11:15 AM

Doug614:

I agree 100%.  I've only been playing for a couple of days.  I'm still new at this game.  I make bad shots.  I miss easy putts.  But I always finish the game.  I just played a game with someone who made a double bogey on the second hole.  He quit.  Gimme a break.  What, do you feel I'll think less of you because you didnt have a good hole?  He said he was leaving because that game was going to ruin his average.  Whatever...

Good choice Doug. This way you can track your TRUE progress. By the way, could you give me the name of the Avg. Savorer ? I feel a Matchplay Challenge is calling his name. LOL.   An Avg. is a combination of posted scores , not a list of scores you choose to post. Just as Sweetiepie said, the guy is on a path to "Bolognaville".

• TheAceFactor
    2,147 Posts
    Tue, Mar 30 2010 11:21 AM

jcs89:

I have found that more masters quit than hacks or pros for the simple reason of protecting their average. My last 2 times playing in a threesome, a master has quit.  I actually enjoy playing with an amateur or pro.  They don't get too upset with a few bogeys and are often more cordial and fun to talk to.

Sorry to hear that  jcs .  Girls generally don't carry an ego in our bag, so you could always send me a game invite.  :)

• marioh
    1,055 Posts
    Tue, Mar 30 2010 11:47 AM

jcs89:

The problem is that most people have no clue how average is computed.