Forums

Help › Forums

Re: I read the lie right yet the ball only moves maybe one foot

rated by 0 users
Mon, Feb 15 2010 5:05 AM (8 replies)
  • jenniferjohnson3
    7 Posts
    Wed, Jan 27 2010 9:12 PM

I'm not understanding!  I've been playing for the past three months and now all of a sudden this game is not workinking right,  I just tried to make a 17 yd. chip. I read my swing meter at about 75% at a max of 20yds up hill by 2ft. My ball only moved maybe 1ft.??????????

• jeffdos924
    1,085 Posts
    Wed, Jan 27 2010 9:31 PM
    Jen .. 17 yards from the pin was almost definitely in the rough, and chipping is nearly impossible from the rough, especially if it's a 40-50% lie. I very rarely try to chipunless the ball is right at the edge of the green, pitching or even a knocked down punch shot is my usual play. Too late to help now, but it's something you might file away for the future. Jeff
  • AlaCowboy
    1,321 Posts
    Thu, Jan 28 2010 8:34 AM

Jeffdos is right. If the ball is more than a foot into the rough a chip almost never gets onto the putting surface. I sometimes pitch, but mostly use a full LW and try to land it a little short and let it run to the hole.

I plan to play some practice rounds and work on punch and flop shots too.

• Faterson
    2,902 Posts
    Thu, Jan 28 2010 8:42 AM

Flop shots work OK in that situation, too. You've just got to pay attention to how many % of rough that is, so that the flop shot is strong enough (must, of course, always be stronger than the stated yardage to hole, and you've got to aim left of the flag for every flop shot).

• YankeeJim
    25,827 Posts
    Thu, Jan 28 2010 8:54 AM

AlaCowboy:
    If the ball is more than a foot into the rough a chip almost never gets onto the putting surface.