Help › Forums

Tips for beginners...

rated by 0 users
Sun, Jan 14 2024 7:40 PM (8 replies)
  • themarketmaker
    1 Posts
    Thu, Sep 22 2022 11:06 AM

Hi all,

I started playing WGT a few years ago but never really took it seriously until the last year when I invested in some clubs and countless hours of practice. This post would be aimed at someone who was where I was at that time and while I'm not the best at the game of course, I've improved to average a good 10 under average per round. I also hope that maybe someone who's better or has something that I'm missing could chime in and correct me or provide some insight to improve my way of playing. Thanks

Intro:
    First things first, the starter clubs and balls can only take you so far. There is of course many good players who can consistently hit dings and know how to play around the clubs/balls from years of experience, but they still don't play every game with the starter equipment. If you feel like you're being limited by the spin, distance or speed of the meter that your equipment offers, then you should invest (wisely) in some clubs and balls. WGT offers good services to get free credits if you didn't want to spend anything too.

In terms of what equipment to buy, the first things to look at is the putter, wedges and balls since at least half your strokes will be within 60 yards or on the greens. Next thing I would look at would be driver, specifically for distance because it's easier to control a 9 iron than it is a 5 iron with lower quality clubs. Last things are of course irons & woods. This helped me massively shave strokes from my game.

Wind:

Now getting into the variables we have wind. let's start with wind blowing straight into us or behind us first. I always divide the wind by 2 to find the yards to add or subtract. So say it's 12-14mph behind us, I will divide 12/2 to get 6 yards to subtract from my overall yardage. Same is true for wind blowing into us.