Help › Forums

Tips for beginners

rated by 0 users
Wed, Nov 24 2010 6:39 AM (18 replies)
  • PAGES
  • 6packmike
    235 Posts
    Wed, Oct 6 2010 5:55 PM

This game has provided me a ton of fun and I'd like to pay it back in the form of giving tips and answering questions to the new players at wgt. So newbiehackaduffers please fire away and I'll give you some one on one assistance outside of these first three very important tips.

Number one is everyone has at least two sets of clubs in their inventory. The beginners set is basically for an absolute newbie with a super slow meter speed. Yet the short  distances on the beginners clubs leave you at a severe disadvantage along with a severe stopping the ball on the green issue. To change to the starters clubs with more distance and spin there are a few ways but the "View/edit  MY CLUBS button next to TEE OFF before you go to the lobby before the game is the easiest. After clicking on that then clicking on the clubs you are currently equipped with you will see those types of clubs that you have an option to use below. Then the arrows will take you to the choice of the starter club if it isn't already checked. If not bring it up front and center.  Then you drag and drop it into the slots at the top. As for the beginner putter I've actually seen a few do fairly well with it.

Number two would be when you get in the rough with at least 30/40% off of your drive and you are a long way from the hole, use a punch shot. Roving your cursor over the bottom left of the game page will allow you to select different kinds of shots. When you are in the rough u can rove over that and up to punch and click. You can use up to a 3 wood with backspin and you will hit the ball further saving a lot of strokes. Don't allow for much carry though.