Forums

Help › Forums

Playing in the WInd

rated by 0 users
Fri, Aug 15 2014 9:13 PM (35 replies)
  • FuzzzyNutzz
    131 Posts
    Mon, Apr 16 2012 11:44 PM

why so compicated, if the wind is in  a straight line in front of behind i half it. if it is on an angle i divide it further. I'm no pro but that all seems so complicated

• saltiresfan
    2,266 Posts
    Tue, Apr 17 2012 1:02 AM

It's complicated by whether the ball stops or not. You can almost stop it dead with a headwind but it bounces on with a tailwind meaning you need to land it before the hole and hope for some luck with the bounce.

• MioKontic
    4,601 Posts
    Tue, Apr 17 2012 8:52 AM

The forumla I use is as follows:

Distance +/- Elevation [that was pretty obvious really, but now it gets interesting]

add (Wind Speed (regardless of direction) divided by Pi to 6 decimal places)

subtract the width of your screen

multiply by (the speed of the processor in your computer / 2) this takes care of the likely meter stutter)

add 5 yards if using a female avatar

multiply by (the angle of wind / 360)  with 0 degrees being at 12 o'clock going in a clockwise direction

subtract (the distance of the person nearest you, in feet, to the nearest toe divided by the age of said person)

subtract 12 yards if tailwind

or

add 12 yards if headwind.

And voila!  It's quite simple really when you think about it.

Or you can do as Lizzie does when she's in cba mode - no calc, no ruler, just hit the f****** thing; she usually gets it somewhere near the green (75.672% of the time) and very occasionally might even hit the green (2.697%), which is about the same as me using my formula.  The other 20 odd percent usually ends up with a lost ball (Lizzie had 2 this morning in one game, but we won't mention that), but hey, that's golf.

Hope this helps.

• saltiresfan
    2,266 Posts
    Tue, Apr 17 2012 9:43 AM