Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Credit Card Security

rated by 0 users
Mon, Nov 2 2009 8:48 AM (6 replies)
  • FalconAF
    1 Posts
    Sun, Oct 4 2009 1:26 PM

Hi.  I'm new to WGT.  After playing a couple "practice" rounds (unrated) I decided to purchase a couple new items from the Pro Shop.  But....

When I select an item to purchase, then click "Buy Now", it brings up a white "overlay" screen to enter my credit card info, etc.  However, there is no indication anywhere in my browser (Internet Explorer) that this is a "secure" connection.  The "padlock" icon is nowhere to be seen in the URL address line, etc.

How can I be sure that the information I enter (credit card number, etc) is actually being transimitted over a secure connection?

Thanks for any info.  I won't make any purchases until I am POSITIVE that my transaction information is secure.

FalconAF 

• Soulcatcher
    1,970 Posts
    Sun, Oct 4 2009 1:28 PM

Sign up for a 'PAYPAL' account. It is unaffiliated and the #1 used payment method on EBAY.

It is free and acts as an intermediary between you and who ever you are paying. I am not including a link because that would not be secure.

• Snaike
    3,678 Posts
    Sun, Oct 4 2009 1:37 PM

I have had no qualms about sending my information to WGT.. but that's me.  You are right to be wary in today's society and should be commended for making sure that your information is safe and secure.

I am here to echo SoulCatcher's advice.  Sign up for and utilize the PayPal system.  There is a very good reason Ebay paid $1.5 billion for it, it is safe and secure.

Good luck with the new gear! 

• Faterson
    2,902 Posts
    Sun, Oct 4 2009 2:12 PM