Moving On up

rated by 0 users
Mon, Apr 26 2010 2:31 PM (11 replies)
  • PAGES
  • Corolla52
    11 Posts
    Wed, Apr 21 2010 1:38 PM

Hi Guys,

I'm an amateur at 90.39. I'm using the WGT starters that were given. I think I need to improve. Whats the set up I need in terms of new clubs to progress?  I did buy some new balls for distance. Any help or advice is most welcoming. BTW i've only been playing since end of march 2010

Cheers

Corolla52

• Joeyola
    1,210 Posts
    Wed, Apr 21 2010 2:45 PM

Welcome Corolla.  That's a question all beginners what to know...but the answer is different depending on your skills and expectations.  Suggest you start by becoming familiar with the Getting Started and FAQs on the right of this screen.  Also, there is a thread called Pro Shop Comparison Charts in the Equipment & Avatar section of the forums...it was updated 1/27/2010.

Consider looking at the bags of better players to see what they use...some clubs are not available until you reach that tier.  You can also rent clubs...but it takes time to get use to new equipment so if you need to rent clubs for more than a few days, consider buying them. 

Suggest equipping your bag with clubs that have similar characteristics.  Comparable meter speeds between clubs is a plus and try not to have large gaps in distance.  With balls, keep in mind that they can be lost and they will wear out so you'll need to buy them over and over which can be expensive...but they can make a difference.     

Joey

• danohi50
    1,020 Posts
    Wed, Apr 21 2010 2:50 PM

For now...get a really good putter...the anser is more precise than the spyder.

Get the most precise longest driver possible for your skillz.

Read putting distance control by nilvac and chipping by iconian.  Just type those titles in the search box---------------------------------------->

• OaktheToke
    409 Posts
    Wed, Apr 21 2010 3:01 PM

Hi Corolla52.