Forums

Help › Forums

Re: New Clubs

Thu, Jan 20 2011 11:06 AM (6 replies)
  • neyguy
    23 Posts
    Sat, Dec 25 2010 9:46 PM

I am a level 41 amateur and want to purchase a complete new set of clubs.  I am looking at a Tour Burner Steel irons set, K15 driver, 3 wood , and Hybrid.  One of the extra wedges I have in mind is a 60 degree Z Satin TP 60.  I would also like to get a 52 or 54 degrree wedge but am not sure which one.

I could use some advice. 

• Joeyola
    1,210 Posts
    Sun, Dec 26 2010 1:14 PM

If you haven't done so...try out the Starter clubs.  They are a little harder to hit (Faster Swing Meter) but it can make you familiar with a faster meter when you upgrade, and playing with the Starters, you will get a little more distance and better attributes than Beginner clubs. 

Everyone needs to do their home work and buy what's best for them.  I suspect, for many, the final decision was based on price, which could  be a mistake in the long run.  Keep in mind that clubs with faster meters are generally harder to hit, and although less expensive, you will be compelled to buy balls to slow the meter down.  That's the reason clubs with slower meters (available in the mid range) are a lot more expensive.  

Look at attributes and distance gaps between clubs...try keeping it consistent.  I would not recommend buying a Driver, 3W, Hybrid with a slower swing meter than the iron set.  That's because you'll need to adjust swing speeds whenever you change clubs which affects timing.  Down the road, taking your game to the highest level, at least as far a equipment is concerned, will require the skill to hit a faster meter.  So maybe now is as good a time as ever to make the adjustment.

I use the Z Satin Irons and they work for me.  

Joey

• neyguy
    23 Posts
    Tue, Dec 28 2010 8:07 AM

Joeyola,