• PAGES
  • padraigbellis
    14 Posts
    Mon, Jun 6 2011 9:26 AM

SALUTE!

• woodbrw1
    6 Posts
    Mon, Jun 6 2011 10:25 AM

I'm a Vietnam Vet and it sure is nice that people are honoring our service personel, because this sure didn't happen to us. Thank you Bill

• OkieX
    175 Posts
    Mon, Jun 6 2011 10:51 AM

That's  a great gesture and i'ts nice to know you are thankful.

I feel the best way to honor and support the troops is to JOIN them.  Go sign up if you really support them.

• Steelers75
    239 Posts
    Mon, Jun 6 2011 10:54 AM

Now that's classy!

I'm in the Army; 16+ years.  I've got two names for you.  I served with both for years.  They were good men, great brothers-in-arms, and are missed:

SSG Julian Melo - 1st BN, 1st INF REG, 1st BDE, 25th ID - KIA Iraq -  December 21,  2004

MSG Mark Coleman - 2nd BN 1st Special Forces Group - KIA Afghanistan - May 2, 2010

• padraigbellis
    14 Posts
    Mon, Jun 6 2011 11:37 AM

I am honored to have those names to show them my support.

• OkieX
    175 Posts
    Mon, Jun 6 2011 12:21 PM

Not to be a stickler but I think it's important to understand the meaning of words.

sup·port   (s-pôrt, -prt)

tr.v. sup·port·edsup·port·ingsup·ports
    1. To bear the weight of, especially from below.
    2. To hold in position so as to keep from falling, sinking, or slipping.
    3. To be capable of bearing; withstand: "His flaw'd heart . . . too weak the conflict to support" (Shakespeare).
    4. To keep from weakening or failing; strengthen: The letter supported him in his grief.
    5. To provide for or maintain, by supplying with money or necessities.
     --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    hon·or   (nr)
    n.
    1. High respect, as that shown for special merit; esteem: the honor shown to a Nobel laureate.
    a. Good name; reputation.
    b. A source or cause of credit: was an honor to the profession.