Help › Forums

meter speed?

rated by 0 users
Wed, Mar 29 2017 7:27 PM (27 replies)
  • Chinajohn
    1,190 Posts
    Sun, Apr 6 2014 1:33 AM

ScottHope:

It's okay for us John to say it has to be the way it is, but try to look at it from a complete beginners point of view. Looking at the attributes of the equipment you immediately catch on to the fact if a club has a higher number for forgiveness it will be more forgiving, or a higher number for precision it will be more precise, and so you cannot forgive newcomers for thinking that if a club has a higher number for meter speed then it will have a faster meter.

I have already shown in another thread that people have bought clubs under the misapprehension that a lower meter speed number meant a slower meter.

I accept it can be confusing at first, and perhaps a warning in the Sales blurb for relevant items would help. I was just saying that given they  wanted to change to numbers doing it the way they did was in reality, the only logical way without limiting the attributes to what they already were and that would have gone against the very reason they changed to the number system in the first place.

• ScottHope
    10,111 Posts
    Sun, Apr 6 2014 1:38 AM

I know they had to change it to progress, but the meter speed value just isn't intuitive. Like you say, a warning in the pro shop or a link to the section in the FAQ's which explains the attributes would be helpful.

• spdemon
    1,588 Posts
    Sun, Apr 6 2014 1:54 AM

they could have left the gauge with numbers on it too though 

• MainzMan
    9,586 Posts
    Sun, Apr 6 2014 5:26 AM

alberich35:

Euh no, higher number for meter is slower meter.

Correct, I assume you're referring to this post:

autoswing:

Just to be clear then  a Meter speed of 5.0  is slower than a meter speed of 1.0

The Ping K15 have a meter speed of 4.5, very nice and slow.  The i15 have a speed of 2.5, faster than a very fast thing.