Help › Forums

Looking to make first equipment upgrade

rated by 0 users
Thu, Nov 27 2014 5:01 PM (16 replies)
  • PAGES
  • CraigBrass
    3 Posts
    Sat, Feb 15 2014 4:25 PM

I'm a Level 35 amateur with 2,500 credits looking to make first upgrade. Driving straight is not a problem, but hitting the ding with a putter has been trouble. Open to all suggestions.

• lonniescott711
    4,182 Posts
    Sat, Feb 15 2014 7:53 PM

CraigBrass:

I'm a Level 35 amateur with 2,500 credits looking to make first upgrade. Driving straight is not a problem, but hitting the ding with a putter has been trouble. Open to all suggestions.

Try a better ball , its cheaper . You can get a better ball for around 60 credits a sleeve . Save your credits until you reach Master tier , and then upgrade your clubs . You will want a ball with at least 1.0 feel rating . This will slow the meter down some , and make hitting the ding easier . Give that a try first , and see if that helps  Good luck with your game . :-)

• Chinajohn
    1,190 Posts
    Sat, Feb 15 2014 8:12 PM

Wait until level 42 then get rid of the Hybrid (use the punch shot to get out of rough) and get three evenly spaced wedges. The reason I say wait until level 42 is that the Pings at and around that level are decent wedges. Then learn to use them, learn ALL the shots full, punch, pitch, flop and chip. That alone will improve your game probably more than any other purchase.

The advice to buy better balls is good but unless you have a source of credits or are willing to spend the time on the videos to 'earn' them it will eat into your credits as purchased balls wear out, clubs are a one time purchase and don't.

Apart from that, practice and note taking (note taking should be at OCD level if you want to master this game) are the roads to improvement.

• alanti
    10,564 Posts
    Sat, Feb 15 2014 10:29 PM

Chinajohn: