Help › Forums

New to master and need help!

rated by 0 users
Sat, Jun 26 2010 6:11 AM (17 replies)
  • PAGES
  • Sastradamus
    10 Posts
    Fri, Jun 18 2010 5:40 PM

So I'm new to the game and played like a maniac over the past 2 weeks to get to master and am quite surprised with the difficultly. Went from shooting low rounds back to high 70s and am just starting to get close to even par on the easy courses. I've almost got putting speed down as I'm now missing around 8-12 putts a round by < 1 ft.

My biggest issue has to do with playing out of bad lies ESPECIALLY from 10-20 yards. I consistently either miss perfect by 1 pixel and end up flubbing the shot 1 yard or i hit the same shot and it releases cleanly and i hit the ball 10 feet past the hole.Also chipping the ball is a nightmare as I often don't get it off the rough/fringe so I almost always use the pitch. I was consistently getting these same shots to within 2-5 ft on pro. I'm also using less distance to account for green speed on my shots but it isn't enough it seems. Can anyone give me some tips on this or tricks they use? Something seems horribly wrong when I can place the ball closer to the flag from 110 yards than 10.

My other question has to do with clubs. Am I correct in assuming the more the swing meter is too the left the slower the club? I'm having difficulty adjusting to the master speed after buying the taylor made set and am surprised to see many posts suggesting the even faster TriMaster sets. Help/opinions appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.

• TheLighterDark
    1,404 Posts
    Sat, Jun 19 2010 11:06 AM

When I'm playing from off of the green, I almost always use a Flop shot. Reasons why:

1. You're ball will go higher, which allows you to safely clear any object in your way (trap lips, traps, fronts of greens, etc.).
    2. You'll be able to stop the ball better, which will really help with the Master green speeds.