Forums

Help › Forums

I love this site, but......

rated by 0 users
Sat, Apr 17 2010 8:46 AM (7 replies)
  • jebishop71
    5 Posts
    Fri, Apr 16 2010 12:20 PM
    I just got upgraded to Master. I am not a Master level player. Don't get me wrong, I do want to becopme a master, but I am not even close to being one now. Playing as a pro, I never finished in the Top 25 of any tournament, I had a few good rounds playing St. Andrew's, btw, that course is way too easy. I struggle at hitting par on BP from the Pro tees. I think I am going to get discouraged by this move up.
  • OaktheToke
    409 Posts
    Fri, Apr 16 2010 12:54 PM

Everyone is a bit put off at first when the move up because of the difficulty and competition.  Averages tend to increase few points or so.  Give it some time and your average will go back down a touch.  

The primary reason that you're struggling is lack of distance off the tee.  You need a Master driver so you're not 20 yards short of everyone else for your 2nd shot.  The R9 seems to be the consensus choice for the majority and the one I'd recommend.  You are already used to the meter speed with your current driver so the switch shouldn't pose that much difficulty.  If you play often enough than a monetary investment to increase your playing pleasure shouldn't be too much of a debate.  I would upgrade all your clubs and your ball, but start with the driver and maybe a putter.  Maybe you'll want to pony up for a full set.  If so, go for the G10.

But an investment in a driver alone will put you back into approach shot territory you're familiar with, closer actually.  The chief difference being a narrower target for the tee shot since its further back.

Good luck.

• micklen
    221 Posts
    Fri, Apr 16 2010 12:55 PM