Forums

Help › Forums

G10 Master Irons with Back Spin

rated by 0 users
Mon, Aug 30 2010 9:50 AM (6 replies)
  • imcoola
    228 Posts
    Sun, Mar 21 2010 6:05 AM
    Well when I hit my G10 Master Irons and add backspin to them it always seems like my shots get 10 yards shorter than they normally would. Is this normal? And why is it like this? regards
  • TheLighterDark
    1,404 Posts
    Sun, Mar 21 2010 12:41 PM

I haven't noticed this at all and I've been playing the G10's for two months now.

• YankeeJim
    25,827 Posts
    Sun, Mar 21 2010 12:46 PM

LOL-Yes they do get knocked down with backspin. It's the biggest difference between the TMs and the Pings. The Pings are up in the air longer and therefore are subject to more influence by the spin. You can see how it affects them all by going to BPB 10 and 11. Set up a practice round, get to the fairway and hit them both ways-with and without topspin. Just hit back and forth in the fairway (use the reverse green view to aim backwards) and you will see what happens. 

When I did this I determined the most affected clubs were the lower ones with the 7 and 8 being highest around 8 yds. I now use this newfound knowledge to control yardage more than anything.

Interesting side note-I used both free balls and SD balls doing this and found that the rated yardage pf the clubs with free balls was very consistent. The SDs obviously add some yardage.

• SWoods
    62 Posts
    Sun, Mar 21 2010 1:43 PM

I don't think they always do so. And I also think distances would vary based on the landing surface. It will be different based on whether you hit fairway to fairway or fairway to green or rough to green. 

Wind will also have an effect as more bs means more time in the air and thus more effect of wind. 

Finally, the dist will depend on whether you ding the meter

I just hit my 9 iron (rated 130) full backspin on the green twice and both times it came to 129 yards - BPB green and negligible wind.