Forums

Help › Forums

Re: How to deal with the randomness

rated by 0 users
Mon, Apr 18 2011 6:12 PM (9 replies)
  • Kroneg
    4 Posts
    Sun, Apr 17 2011 5:10 PM

Title pretty much says it all.  How do you deal with the randomness of ball distance and direction? 

I know lie/elevation/wind all effect things, but I'm talking straight shots (getting the center "ping" sound) with no wind that hook/slice anyway.  Another example: club length says 215 on my driver, but I've had it go anywhere from 180 to 250 off the tee - ON the fairway (not into a bunker or anything).  Is it absolutely required to get better clubs/balls in order to just hit it as the numbers actually say?  Really don't feel like dropping money only to find "better" clubs do the same thing.  (Please don't suggest surveys - they don't appear to be a viable option - took me over an hour to get one survey accepted/finished.  75 cents an hour doesn't cut it.) 

Disclosure: yes, I'm a newb and I suck.  My average is something like a 140 and if there's a bunker nearby I'm 99% guaranteed to hit it.  However, it's VERY difficult to get "better" when the ball seems to fly randomly so I never know what I should do differently. So, back to the original question: what do I have to do?

• Yappy22
    733 Posts
    Sun, Apr 17 2011 6:57 PM

Get the better clubs and balls you will be rewarded with lots of practice.  Good Luck...and don't forget ... the ding is king...

• Joeyola
    1,210 Posts
    Sun, Apr 17 2011 7:16 PM

There are EZ Swing clubs in the pro shop, FREE rental, and the driver is rated at 225 that should get you you to the fairways.  In fact, you can rent the entire set...precision is not good but its an idea.