Forums

Help › Forums

Alternating Play Putting

Sun, Jul 23 2023 12:03 PM (9 replies)
  • Spangled04
    27 Posts
    Sun, Jul 9 2023 8:44 AM

I'm new to this format. What is the etiquette for conceding putts? Thank you. 

• ScottHope
    10,096 Posts
    Mon, Jul 10 2023 11:04 AM

Generally its 3 ft or less from the cup. Keep an eye on the number of shots each team has played though, so you don't make your opponents putt from say, 30 ft away for 4, when you're 2 ft away for 2.

• PureGro1
    1,656 Posts
    Mon, Jul 10 2023 12:45 PM

ScottHope:
    Generally its 3 feet or less from the cup.

Yes this is standard, but some like longer some shorter and some want no CC's and some people are quite adamant that their way is correct.

IMO- Its best to ask the other players when the round begins "3ft CC work for all?". Helps avoid drama later in game.

• KenBTEXAS
    284 Posts
    Mon, Jul 10 2023 2:37 PM

Spangled04:

yes, 3 feet is most common..

however that being said, I will never make any agreement in any game as that sets my available choices in stone. I believe in situational awareness. If it is a straight uphill putt and the opo has been putting well I will cc 5-6 footer. If it is a slick bender from 2ft I may make them putt out depending on the score in the game. 

• callaghan159
    6,222 Posts
    Tue, Jul 11 2023 3:14 AM

KenBTEXAS:
    yes, 3 feet is most common..

I like the 30 ft cc's.😂

• borntobesting
    9,625 Posts
    Wed, Jul 12 2023 1:05 PM

When I do play A/S , which isn't that often any more, I do 3 to 5 feet except on holes like #2 at St, Andrews  #9 At Oakmont and # 15 at BPB

• alosso
    21,039 Posts
    Wed, Jul 12 2023 7:45 PM

Spangled04:

By the Rules of Golf, it's not just an etiquette point but may be an important psychological part of the game. To concede or not may be used for various purposes, including to disturb or annoy the opponent. It's completely at the opponent's discretion (Rule 3.2 b):