Help › Forums

Buying Equipment for First time.

rated by 0 users
Mon, Sep 7 2015 12:50 PM (17 replies)
  • PAGES
  • MrFunnyWobbl
    894 Posts
    Thu, Sep 3 2015 8:29 AM

Hello, I am new to the game and looking for advice on buying equipment. I am level 33 Pro and have been playing for a week. I have been reading some threads similar to this and so far this is my plan. 

Once I get level 35 Buy the TaylorMade Ghost Putter 800 Credits. 

Wait till level 38/9 and buy 3 of the TaylorMade ATV wedges. (Which 3 should I buy? 52, 58, 64?)

Wait till level 48 buy the TaylorMade driver. 

Level 59 Buy the Ping G25 irons. 

Is this a good plan? It gives me wedges, putter, irons and a driver. However it doesn't give me a 3 wood. Should I buy the Level 31 R11 3 wood? Should I just buy the R11 Irons and not get the Pings? It would also leave me with a starter hybrid. 

Also I have gather most of this from threads similar to mine, but I have found little advice on when I should buy balls other than the starter balls? When should i do so and which balls? 

I have 750 credits from playing and the rest will be bought. 

Thanks for your help. 

• alosso
    21,040 Posts
    Thu, Sep 3 2015 10:35 AM

It's a good plan IMHO.

Take the shortest ATVs, 50 yds and 77 yds I think.

You may buy the R11 3WD as a driver replacement - cheap and efficient for a while. The 3H may be replaced by an extra wedge later (higher level wedge).

L59 is at 88,000 XPs - wait if you can or buy the R11 if you want to spend.

With these clubs, custom balls act slower than the Starter balls. Try the B-ES first, then the Tour-SD. Beware they wear and get lost - constant income for the company.

• Joshnosh
    548 Posts
    Thu, Sep 3 2015 12:36 PM

that sounds like an excellent plan! im still using that putter now at 93 :P

• JaymsTee
    64 Posts
    Thu, Sep 3 2015 1:06 PM

Hi MrFW,