Wedges, the more the better?

rated by 0 users
Tue, Dec 21 2010 9:01 AM (14 replies)
  • PAGES
  • Longwedge
    885 Posts
    Sun, Nov 14 2010 9:06 AM

Hello all

I really wanted some input on Wedges.  I have gotten pretty good with the ones I'm currently carrying.  Currently I'm a level 48, made Master yesterday.  I have the idea that I may eventually revamp the club setup that I have been using for roughly 6 months.  6 months ago I abandond the Hybrid and added another wedge...I just didn't see the need for a hybrid that hit 200 yards when I had an Iron that hit 190, and a Wood that hit 225.  I don't spen enough time in the rough to worry about getting out of it with a Hybrid.  So my current club distance is as such:

• Driver: 257 yards,
    • Wood: 225 yards,
    • Irons: 90-190 yards,
    • 58 degree wedge: 86 yards,
    • 60 degree wedge: 75 yards,
    • 64 degree wedge: 60 yards

Now, I know what you are thinking...why do you carry an 86 yard wedge when you have a 90 yard Iron...well it's because I can't use that Iron in flop shots...I like to have the 31 yard flop shot in my bag...I use it alot around the green...especially on par 5 approach.

I'm considering a complete club revamp at level 60, which would include replacing my Wood with another Wedge, and getting longer Irons, it would look like this:

• Driver: 270 yards (level 58)
    • Irons: 115-210 yards (level 59)
    • 54 degree wedge: 105 yards (level 60)
    • 56 degree wedge: 90 yards
    • 60 degree wedge: 75 yards
    • 64 degree wedge: 60 yards

While I loose my distance from the Wood, I have increased my Driver distance, which will be the most important issue to address as I continue to improve.  I also will develop a 40 yard flop shot...which as you probably have figured out is a favorite of mine.  This helps close a gap in my distance between the 31 yard flop that I have now, and the 60 yard full swing wedge.  Being accurate, is more important than being long...in my personal opinion.