Forums

Help › Forums

Re: what is the best driver to buy

rated by 0 users
Sat, Mar 10 2012 10:02 AM (7 replies)
  • Taddo3
    1 Posts
    Tue, Mar 6 2012 9:07 AM

what is the best driver to buy for a noob w only about 1200 credits? or should i buy a set of irons?

• hawgy
    79 Posts
    Tue, Mar 6 2012 10:01 AM

get a driver and some wedges first then irons

• alosso
    21,037 Posts
    Tue, Mar 6 2012 10:12 AM

None, IMHO, or any that you like.

At level 30, there aren't any good drivers available, and as an Amateur, you may well do without it.

Level up without buying anything as long as you can, then buy the best you can afford.

I am a Tour Pro and still do well with only the lvl 47 Rapture 3WD, outdriving many lvl 30 drivers, at 1/3 the costs.

One or two wedges may improve your game. Others suggest the lvl38+ ZSatin series (I have one, very nice).

And maybe a ball, e.g. the WTG tour-SD balls, if you don't mind the steady expenses.

• singingjesus
    152 Posts
    Tue, Mar 6 2012 12:00 PM

Taddo3:

what is the best driver to buy for a noob w only about 1200 credits? or should i buy a set of irons?

Tough question . . . you really need to play more ranked rounds and level up, but Alosso's words are all true. I know now, in hindsight, I'd probably be tempted to buy these; Burner Plus Iron Set (Steel) (L27+, because they'd be such and improvement over the starter irons. But I actually used the starter irons up to Master tier, but then got the Ping G 10's which quickly (sort of) got me to Tour Master. I also had gotten the Daytona putter (795 credits I believe) and a set of 3 TM wedges along the way, ditching the 'rescue' wood. Do more surveys and watch more ads to earn free credits. But play more ranked rounds!

sj

• BillyTBudMan
    100 Posts
    Tue, Mar 6 2012 1:16 PM