Help › Forums

Re: Linux users question - Latest update version won't load correctly on Steam

rated by 0 users
Tue, Oct 3 2023 4:26 AM (7 replies)
  • FatFace68
    80 Posts
    Sun, Oct 1 2023 3:54 AM

TcwJBJM

I know WGT doesn't support officially Linux, but thanks to proton it works perfectly and I've been playing on Linux on Steam for a few years now. However, since the latest update all I get is a screen like this (click link). The game has loaded because if I click around the screen I can hear the noise of clicking on the home screen. If I drop down to proton 7 or below, it loads, but the game play is beyond dreadful. Choppy as hell and completely unusable. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling, but that didn't help.My other games on Steam all work as they should.

Any other Linux users having an issue? Any help or advice would be great.

Andy

• WGTShamWow
    908 Posts
    Sun, Oct 1 2023 10:44 AM

Unfortunately there wouldn't be any official support for Linux. Personally I do use a SteamDeck which is Linux based and I believe their latest update is using Proton 8 and I haven't had any issues. I know the latest update for our game came with a Unity update, and they are no longer supporting some older versions of Ubuntu (18.4 I believe is the oldest version supported) as well as older versions of OSX (10.13.6 and older are no longer supported), so that may have something to do with it. 

I use ProtonUp-QT on my SteamDeck to download newer versions of Proton than what Steam supports if games do not work correctly, not sure if this would help you. 

Best,
    WGTShamWow

• FatFace68
    80 Posts
    Sun, Oct 1 2023 4:18 PM

I've tried various versions of Proton and ProtonUp. As I said, if I go 7 or lower, it loads but the game is unplayable. Anything 8.0 and up, the game loads as I can hear the music, but all I see is the green and black screen shown in the pic linked.