Forums

Help › Forums

Distance Accuracy

Tue, Mar 10 2009 11:37 AM (5 replies)
  • FCJuggernaut
    1 Posts
    Mon, Feb 16 2009 10:42 AM

Can someone explain to me a few things? I hit a 170 club at 90% with wind in my face of 4mph and the distance is 180...but another time with roughly the same conditions and it is 165...same hole. Another issue is how I can line up about 5 yards right of the hole, with wind at 1mph, strike the ball perfectly and the ball sail 20 yards to the left of the hole. I can be playing a perfect round, then have one of these two situations occur and throw my whole round outta whack. Are there tricks that some of the more experience players have found that I have not? Please advise.

• mhancock
    2 Posts
    Thu, Feb 19 2009 2:08 PM

I am experiencing the same thing with my rounds too. I am a newbie "hack" and thought it might just be me that was having this problem.  I also don't really understand the wind issue. It can be blowing 4-7mph right and then after aiming to the left and hitting a perfect shot, it still goes left.  I love the game and it is very challenging but these are things that don't make a lot of sense to me either. Putting is a whole different group of problems but I am getting better at this.  The wind and aiming seems to be worse in the skills tournament than in practice too.

• Snaike
    3,678 Posts
    Tue, Mar 3 2009 3:39 PM

I found I was having this issue as well.. until I looked at the slope and lie.  I have found that if I am sitting on a side-hill lie, right off the green, I need to adjust for the lie otherwise the ball sails "downhill".

When I can judge that my ball is on a down-slope, I adjust for a lower trajectory because the hill/my stance will take a bit of loft off the club in relation to the green.

Either that, or I have just been getting extremely lucky with the adjustments in aim that I am making.

My $.02

• tibbets
    1,043 Posts
    Tue, Mar 3 2009 8:09 PM