Course Changes When Playing Higher Level Players

rated by 0 users
Mon, Feb 6 2023 1:19 PM (10 replies)
  • PAGES
  • EldrickCone
    6 Posts
    Thu, Feb 2 2023 7:06 PM

Hello,

My friends and I have been playing WGT for about 3 years (COVID). We play in a stroke play bracket with each other 3 times a year. There is 5 of us and for 4 of us we really only play against each other. The "commissioner" as he calls himself is plays WGT about 4 nights a week is is leveled in the upper 90's and is a Tour Master. The rest of us are Pro status and level 32 or 33. Obviously the "commissioner" the best skilled player and he is 9-0 in our tournaments.

In preparation for the upcoming tournament I stated practicing for the first time, taking notes on the courses and following suggested practice procedures others have posted about. I practiced with another player and both of us shot -1 with 2nd easiest tees, medium wind, medium hole location, and level 10 green speed. We had the opening round of play with the "commissioner" last night and he whooped our butts and he shot Even.

I was wondering when we play a stoke play game with a high level player do the parameters change? This was our first tournament with the "commissioner" being a Tour Master. I noticed he was one tee further back in distance however the green speeds were upped to 11. The wind was over 15 mph on Congressional the entire round and the hole locations were not locations I had seen before they were more difficult. We also thought the meter was much less forgiving then our practices if you didn't hit a "dinger" the ball went further off course then I have experienced. 

What parameters do I need to set my practice sessions to to achieve similar conditions? For reference I'm a level 33 using WGT starter clubs and balls.

Thanks

Eldrick Cone

• alosso
    21,032 Posts
    Sat, Feb 4 2023 1:12 AM

EldrickCone: