Forums

Help › Forums

What Happened to the 2 Big Monthly's!?

Thu, Feb 10 2022 4:34 PM (205 replies)
  • xAmazingTrace
    122 Posts
    Tue, Feb 1 2022 5:19 AM

Ever since I started playing competitively in 2020, I made it my goal to cash in the 2 big monthly's. The Tier Open and the Monthly Multi Round.

The 1st place prize for the Tier Open is now a third of what it was with the buyin remaining at 200cr. So for a Tour Legend like myself the prize went from 10,000 to 3,240!

The 1st place prize for the multi round has been cut by 6 times and the buyin reduced half. This one went from 8,000 to 1,350!

Are they trying to give less incentive to even play this game? I don't usually post in the forums, but I had to come and voice my outrage about this change. It is NOT for the better! Other than just pure profit from credits, I don't know what they are thinking?

• JSmithers
    1,263 Posts
    Tue, Feb 1 2022 6:10 AM

Following

• AdamVerrill
    84 Posts
    Tue, Feb 1 2022 6:34 AM

also following

• el3n1
    4,494 Posts
    Tue, Feb 1 2022 6:48 AM

xAmazingTrace:
    I don't know what they are thinking?

Similar topic to the last time they made cuts to tournaments, you may not get thru all 17 pages, and I won't rationalize or justify their decisions as it won't be the first time I partially disagree with them.  May not give you answers you would like, but it may give some background.  

Fwiw, the changes would not have been so harsh had they not also cut the total purse and changed payout from top 3 to top 70.  Doing both makes it even look harsher.

Link may not work but you should be able to copy it.

www.wgt.com/forums/t/557129.aspx?PageIndex=1

Doubt you get any more clarity from wgt than the previous discussion thread.

• MasterHacker74
    87 Posts
    Tue, Feb 1 2022 6:59 AM

Great post, Ryan.  Let me add a few of my thoughts.