Help › Forums

I remember why I stopped playing

rated by 0 users
Mon, Jul 5 2021 11:59 AM (10 replies)
  • PAGES
  • Toweliechaos
    31 Posts
    Mon, Jun 28 2021 12:39 PM

I stopped playing WGT a year or so ago as I'd just go so fed up of the game's problems. I recently started playing again, as I'd rekindled my interest in the real game. At first, I enjoyed it again and started to wonder why I'd stopped.

Then it started. All those elements of the game that bothered me before started to appear again.

Completely inconsistent wind effects on the ball meaning one shot gets blown 10 yards across and the next either nothing or twice as much? Check.

Identical pitch/chip shots going arbitrary distances despite everything being the same? Check.

Balls landing on a green and stops quickly, or rolls on miles or spins back miles with no clear repeatable reason for it? Check.

Meter bar that randomly sticks on mobile version despite internet and memory being fine? Check.

Bracket tournaments that just use the same few courses over and over? Check - why do Torrey Pines, Oakmont, Best of Par 4 etc. never feature?

But all of the above pale into insignificance compared to putting. I am so, so sick of the little dots barely moving and yet mysteriously the ball swings two cup widths or not at all. Or a two cup break on one green moving a completely different amount on the next. Or the ball that moves excessively in the first foot or two but then proceeds to ignore the break presented by the dots elsewhere on the green. Or my absolute favourite when the ball just decides to leave the clubface at right angles on the tiniest of not perfect strikes.

I'm a Legend level player, so don't tell me I'm just rubbish. But already I'm starting to feel like I'll be jacking it in again soon. What's the point of playing if you cannot trust the game mechanics to be consistent?

And breathe...

• golferguy2018
    362 Posts
    Tue, Jun 29 2021 8:13 AM