Forums

Help › Forums

Can't play in the USGA events - why?

rated by 0 users
Tue, Sep 15 2020 10:23 AM (5 replies)
  • HollywoodHogan82
    5 Posts
    Mon, Sep 14 2020 8:31 AM

I can't figure out why when I try to enter the USGA Match Play tournament, it tells me "Sorry, you're not eligible for this tournament." It doesn't give any more details. The exact same thins happened to me earlier this year for the US Open Qualifier. I'm a Tour Pro - Level 38 and am located in the US...so why am I not eligible? I contacted customer service about this back when I couldn't get into the US Open Qualifier, and just got a cookie cutter "we're looking into it".

Can anyone help me figure this out? Thank you!

• MarchieB
    1,525 Posts
    Mon, Sep 14 2020 11:47 AM

Are you less than 18 years old?  There are other requirements to be eligible to advance into the bracket part later on, but age is the only requirement i believe to play in qualifing.

• HollywoodHogan82
    5 Posts
    Mon, Sep 14 2020 3:01 PM

I am over 18 years old.

Although I haven't seen anywhere in my profile etc where it asks age or birthday, so maybe it doesn't know whether I'm 18? I can't see anywhere to do that.

• alosso
    21,034 Posts
    Mon, Sep 14 2020 3:13 PM

Apart from the country, the (US) state of residency may be in the mix, as some types of the game are considered differently between them, on the gambling side of it.

WGT is very eager NOT to break any of these laws - always on the safe side!

• MarchieB
    1,525 Posts
    Tue, Sep 15 2020 9:55 AM

alosso:
    Apart from the country, the (US) state of residency may be in the mix, as some types of the game are considered differently between them, on the gambling side of it. WGT is very eager NOT to break any of these laws - always on the safe side!