• DonCaron
    5,502 Posts
    Fri, Sep 11 2020 3:24 PM

JDGHOST:

craigswan:

Wgt is free if you want it .

Ask lonniescott and simon the beetle .

Both champions without spending .

I have spent  around 20 bucks in ten years .

1 - was gifted a full set of clubs on my way to tour master .

2 - spent 20 bucks on cleveland irons .

3 - was gifted driver by gift of golf foundation .

4 - been given a few dozen better balls but the free one's work great for me .

I'm not skint . Just never been in the mode of spending money on online games .

I also have reached Champion status without spending any of my own "Real Money" But that doesn't really mean it was "Free" ...I use to spend countless hours on surveys once I reached around 5000 credits or so I started playing matches and skins for credits and have been lucky enough to never zero out ....I was gifted a good set of Irons when I made legend (had starters all the way till then)

Irregardless  of how someone attains their equipment or balls SOMWHERE someone is spending good ol' fashion real money ...Whether is be my opponents in a skins game or a generous donor in the Gift of Golf Foundation ...

Now "Technically" it could be called a free golf game if you never upgrade your gear and play with those miniature cue' balls they call golf balls....But you will lose interest quite quickly ...

Now the new PGA2K21  THAT is a great FREE format ...From what I understand is yes ...you do pay an initial cost to get the game ...But after that you never spend money again for upgrades...You earn coins by just playing... Those coins you then use to upgrade your equipment (everyone plays the same ball) Surprisingly there is not even an option to "Purchase" coins for those that have very little patience?

Now to be clear.... I am getting this info from a friend who has just started on the 2K game a few days ago..  I have not looked into it yet ...And I stress "YET"....

JD