First club upgrade

rated by 0 users
Sun, Mar 28 2021 4:13 AM (13 replies)
  • PAGES
  • RobGeorghiou
    6 Posts
    Wed, Apr 29 2020 1:36 AM

Hi,

I’m new to the game and am yet to buy any clubs. 
    what do people recommend- my feeling is I need a driver to compete.
    also, once you buy a club, is it possible to improve the distance?

thanks in advance.
    love the game!

• mrmp1
    522 Posts
    Wed, Apr 29 2020 9:24 AM

I do not remember what tier or level i was but I started looking to upgrade my driver when the starter driver could no longer reach fairway  on ST ANDREWS hole 7.I was not aware of this forum but these guys or gals could give you better info as to club suggestions 

MEL

• rabrown53
    96 Posts
    Wed, Apr 29 2020 10:44 AM

if i had it to do over, again, i would work from the hole back to the tee (unless your driver can't reach the fairway).  get a good putter, like the max control putters.  they are great and don't cost an arm and a leg.  then get the best wedges, then irons, then driver/3wood.   your average will improve greatly when you can get close to the hole using your wedges.

• alosso
    21,028 Posts
    Wed, Apr 29 2020 10:51 AM

RobGeorghiou:
    I’m new to the game and am yet to buy any clubs. 
    what do people recommend- my feeling is I need a driver to compete.
    As a Tour Pro, you might want to start with a 3WD (replacing driver + second use on the fairway (*)), plus one or two short wedges to get more precise shots around the green.

(*) been there, did that

Reasons:

It may be only 40 games until you hit Master, taking you back to the next set of tees. THEN you will need a new driver, and you will take advantage of the levels you are gaining in between.

Have fun and hit it straight!

• gtorrealba
    49 Posts
    Wed, Apr 29 2020 12:03 PM