Forums

Help › Forums

Is this game fixed

Thu, Apr 11 2024 2:30 AM (113 replies)
  • Robert1893
    7,664 Posts
    Thu, Mar 11 2021 7:27 AM

SimonTheBeetle:
    Sorry for derailing, but I often hear "are" in lieu of "is" when you Brits refer to an entity. Any reason why or just the way it is in proper English?

I Googled it and found a nice overview on English Stack Exchange. 

https://english.stackexchange.com/questions/1338/are-collective-nouns-always-plural-or-are-certain-ones-singular

• ct690911
    7,195 Posts
    Thu, Mar 11 2021 9:25 AM

Greynurse0:

I couldn't agree more, BrianCheese. Unfortunately, WGT has fallen in with the worst things that have destroyed gaming today. In this case it is the construction of the game to "reward" you by parting with your money. No spend, no reward. And the cost of items is, let's face it, for the cashed up working class who love on line golf. 
    I'm a level 91 tour pro with an average of 67.8. I've 4 credits to my account after I bought 20$Aus worth of credits to buy a 240yard driver and a set of Ben Hogan irons. That was it. My pension won't allow me any more "luxuries". I'm fortunate to be able to, on occasion, tp beat players ranked above me. Heck, I even beat a Champion on a 3 hole H to H. But more often than not, I'm pitted against players with 40+ yards over my driver and balls that slow down the meter and also produce good back spin. That puts me at a considerable disadvantage. I'll never be able to afford those things. I just rely on trying to memorise the best areas to aim for on fairways and greens, while hopefully hitting as straight as I can (which is not as often as I like).
    If I win a major lottery, I'll upscale everything to get my own back on those rude so and so's who cannot win graciously. Until then, I play as well as I can and dream of that day.