Forums

Help › Forums

Forfeits

Wed, Dec 8 2021 7:14 AM (29 replies)
  • Grh326
    1 Posts
    Sun, Apr 5 2020 3:47 PM

I sometimes get frustrated with other players in the Head to Head matches that get in trouble on the 1st or 2nd hole and just quit and take the forfeit.  Why not keep playing for the practice and entertainment?.  Your opponent might get in trouble on the next hole and it will even out.

I don't play for fame or fortune (much like how I play for real!), but just for entertainment and to get better at the game, again much like I play for real.

Don't get me wrong, I will take the coins in the win every time.  I would just like to play a match with you.  I have been playing this game for probably 8 years and I have NEVER purposely forfeited because of a bad round.  I can't get better if I don't play!

• WahooSerious
    220 Posts
    Mon, Apr 6 2020 11:54 AM

I know what you mean. I'm a new player and I find this happening more when I'm playing a much higher level player than myself. When I first started playing I forfeited a few games until someone pointed out exactly what you are saying which made a lot of sense to me. Maybe they're embarrassed?

• pdiehm
    285 Posts
    Tue, Apr 7 2020 6:52 AM

this happens to me all the time in Shanghai.  I'll buzz my first shot, they'll forfeit before they even hit their approach on hole 1, or if they hit their approach off the green or in a bunker, it's an instant forfeit.

Example, last weekend, I played 6 Shanghai matches in a 30 minute sponsorship window.  3 were 2 shots or less, 2 went to the 2nd hold before forfeit and i finally played a full 9 where I won by 7 shots, and gave the guy a sleeve of balls for nor forfeiting.

• SlickHunter
    1,034 Posts
    Tue, Apr 7 2020 7:20 AM

Join a country club, they will not forfeit.

• AussieMick11
    1,275 Posts
    Tue, Apr 7 2020 8:35 AM

SlickHunter:

Hey mate, speaking of clubs, let me know when you want to come home ;-)