Forums

Help › Forums

Am I about to be a sucker or just living in an expensive city?

Thu, Dec 12 2019 11:46 PM (41 replies)
  • SimonTheBeetle
    3,468 Posts
    Wed, Dec 4 2019 4:12 AM

Alright, I'm about to ask something that has nothing to do with the game and/or golf. My apologies.

I've been searching for a place near my neighborhood where I can get my new car stereo installed and found a place so I called, asked him how much I should be expecting for his service and he asked for 180 bucks (USD 135)!! Now the thing is I already have this new double-din unit purchased a few days ago so it just needs to get wired up and installed in my car. Is it a reasonable service charge or is he trying to rip me off? Can't tell as I'm still new to the town... to be honest, I was expecting the price range to be below $100. 

I was thinking about doing it myself but I'd be certainly better off leaving it to a professional's hands with no worries of messing it up and buying all those additional tools like wire stripper, crimp caps, electrical tape, trim removers, etc., etc.

How much would it be reasonable for this kind of service? It might widely vary depending on where you are but in general...

• borntobesting
    9,605 Posts
    Wed, Dec 4 2019 4:33 AM

it sounds a little high to me. About 4 years ago I bought a new car stereo with installation for less that what he is charging just for the installation, 

• Luckystar5
    1,636 Posts
    Wed, Dec 4 2019 5:01 AM