Forums

Help › Forums

TWO is cartoon golf...

Tue, Nov 3 2009 4:15 PM (34 replies)
  • Faterson
    2,902 Posts
    Mon, Nov 2 2009 4:00 PM

Yes, but the feel of realism is communicated by WGT much stronger than by TWO, especially for beginning players. Can't tell you how many players commented to me during our multi-player rounds, "This feels just like real golf I play at the weekends; the same dilemmas, the same decisions..." That realistic feel is rather suppressed by the super-natural ease of play enabled even for absolute beginners over at TWO.

As to the too-low scores for Masters here at WGT, I'd very much support the proposal already expressed in these forums many times: WGT should radically decrease our Fairways Hit percentages. That will then also take care of the unrealistically low average scores. By all means, let the Starter driver and Tour Starter driver be as forgiving as they are today. But any other upgraded driver's current forgiveness should be drastically reduced by at least 50%. I finish most of my rounds with 100% Fairways Hit, which doesn't make sense.

• YankeeJim
    25,827 Posts
    Mon, Nov 2 2009 4:25 PM

Start moving the pins around before you close the case, Tib. You have the course memorized and your club is in your hand for the next shot while your opp is still planning the shot. When you play a round with random pins and shoot a 57 then it's impressive. Until then you're the best because you consistently click the best on every hole that is exactly like it was the last time you played it. 

I can't comment on TWO because I could only stomach 3 swings there. Links was 10 times the CGI golf that TWO is and neither WGT or TWO will ever come close to the complexity and realism of Links when it comes to golf club physics. Links had it nailed right down to clubface position. I never once thought "cartoon" playing Links. TWO is comically cartoonish.