Forums

Help › Forums

Short Greenside Bunker Shots

rated by 0 users
Wed, Jul 10 2019 8:22 AM (39 replies)
  • Cicero733
    2,292 Posts
    Tue, Dec 11 2018 10:05 AM

I’m still relatively new to WGT, but am getting my feet wet. The one shot I cannot wrap my head around is the short greenside bunker shot, those ranging in length from 8 to 12 yds. I am using a 60 degree lob wedge. My shot meter displays a range from 77 yds down to 0.  In hitting these shots if I choose 25% power I will move the ball, distance dependent upon the lie of the ball, but in all cases the length of the shot is greater then I need. When I power down below 25% the ball either advances 3 or 4 yds or not at all. I have watched more advanced players hit those shots within a yd of the hole. Is there a trick, formula, or magic spell that I am unaware of? I have practiced as much as I can, but am making no progress.

• Beryman
    9,084 Posts
    Tue, Dec 11 2018 1:38 PM

trash the hybrid and get a good 64 degree wedge...then flop it about 7 more yrds than you see listed

• Cicero733
    2,292 Posts
    Tue, Dec 11 2018 1:54 PM

My wedge is a Taylor ATV 60 degree “lob” wedge. I used it for 4 months now...don’t think I want to trash it. I’ll try the flop idea again with the 7 yd adjustment and see what happens. Somewhat easier in the real world where you can adjust the distance and flight characteristics by varying the club face and the amount of sand hit.

• Robert1893
    7,654 Posts
    Tue, Dec 11 2018 5:39 PM

Beryman:

trash the hybrid and get a good 64 degree wedge...then flop it about 7 more yrds than you see listed

+1

• hpurey
    11,505 Posts
    Tue, Dec 11 2018 8:19 PM

Beryman:

I will have to keep this in mind.  I play them here as I do in real life, just get out of the bunker and worry about the next shot LOL.