Forums

Help › Forums

Uneven Lies Video @ Pebble Beach

Tue, Oct 16 2018 1:23 PM (18 replies)
  • PAGES
  • el3n1
    4,494 Posts
    Sun, Oct 14 2018 8:03 AM

Am sure that helps, but I have also watched FMags and JoeM on UEL and they are not necessarily hitting "garden spots" all the time.  

I recall one hole on Olympic where I think Mags caught a tree on the right of hole 10 into heavy rough, punched out, went through the fairway into the rough again, but still managed to save par on the first hole!  That while it may have been a little ugly was an outstanding par save from what would likely be a bogey or double for a lot of people.  He then went on to make a stretch of birdies... 

Doesn't mean those garden spot rounds don't happen but knowing how to minimize or being able to minimize and rebound from those bad lies is absolutely crucial to saving a round.  

• MartyFlanagan
    2,488 Posts
    Mon, Oct 15 2018 7:38 AM
    DonCaron:

I'm a retired carpenter, can't you tell. Try doing a stairway door. lol

Don

lol :)
  • MartyFlanagan
    2,488 Posts
    Mon, Oct 15 2018 7:42 AM

pmm711:
    If you know all the “Garden Spots”, and can hit them, UEL becomes a regular round of golf. That’s why players can shoot great scores in UEL because they take the UELs out of the game.

hitting a garden spot doesnt mean a flat regular lie, there are a lot of holes that the garden spot still has a good size side slope or something tricky, good scores are gained by doing the right thing at the right time

• el3n1
    4,494 Posts
    Mon, Oct 15 2018 11:22 AM

MartyFlanagan:
    hitting a garden spot doesnt mean a flat regular lie,

Marty, I understood Paul to suggest that "garden spot" meant the flat black lies you can occasionally get or at least the flattest portion of the fairway... so at least I read his reference to mean trying to optimize a flat regular lie.