So here are a few items from the world of the PGA Tour .. just to see how folks in the real world making real money handle the situation.
Exhibit #1 - Phil Mick on a Par 3 - Does what appears a full swing with a wedge - WITHOUT PENALTY - on the green. Twitter is one place you can see this ... no account required. This shot was not only legal, it was required and he apparently practiced it earlier and knocked it to 5 feet or less.
Exhibit #2 - Seung-Yul Noh on #11 in 2014, ball lands on #2 green. NOTE IT IS A DIFFERENT GREEN. He hits a sweet full wedge onto #11 green and thought he saved par. Wrong - two stroke penalty. Article link follows:
According to Rules of Golf, any club may be used at any time, including wedges on greens, but a hitting ANY shot from a different green is a penalty. I don't know if WGT enforces this penalty or not, and I really don't plan on finding out.
IMHO - I still think a wedge on a green also requires skill, and even though I don't do that as a general rule and I only around do it around obstacles - short lower right on OLY #3 for example - if you like go for it. I can regularly get a 100ft putt within a foot or two and will put my putting against any wedger.