Forums

Help › Forums

Ben Hogan - Merion #18

Sun, Sep 26 2021 9:54 AM (20 replies)
  • Robert1893
    7,652 Posts
    Mon, Jun 25 2018 10:26 AM

LLLlloyd88:
    As far as I know loft, lie and length. I assume there're nearly identical, just that one had a "1" stamped on it and the other a "3"

I'm no expert on the history of golf equipment, but I seriously doubt that.

When pros were asked to hit Hogan's old clubs, one asked about the 1 iron, "What’s the loft on this—zero degrees?”

I read where it was actually a 17 degree. Leaving that aside, I just don't see how anyone could make a claim that older equipment is equivalent to today's equipment, in any way. 

• terryntx
    56 Posts
    Tue, Jun 26 2018 4:39 AM

u r correct the equipment today is by far way better than the past..... but the crazy thing is,handicaps in the last 20  yrs have not really gone down,so that means people who are hitting it in the trees alot, just means they are hitting it further into the trees....................

• K7JBQ
    1,468 Posts
    Tue, Jun 26 2018 9:28 AM

Very valid point. I finally broke down this year and replaced my c1982 irons with Cleveland HB launchers. At 73, I don't have the club speed I had at 37 lol, so I have to make the odd adjustment, such as to hit one more club than my brain tells me I need.

On the second point, it does appear that the trees have become more accurate.

terryntx:

u r correct the equipment today is by far way better than the past..... but the crazy thing is,handicaps in the last 20  yrs have not really gone down,so that means people who are hitting it in the trees alot, just means they are hitting it further into the trees....................

• borntobesting
    9,605 Posts
    Wed, Jun 27 2018 12:11 AM