Forums

Help › Forums

Notebook - Automated spreadsheet (alternative to virtual notebook)

Sat, Jul 25 2020 2:57 PM (125 replies)
  • DaddysKat
    3,554 Posts
    Thu, Nov 7 2013 12:10 PM

Hi all,

Back in May when I started playing WGT, I wanted to advance as quickly as possible.  Since I also play golf IRL, I understood the importance of taking notes, so I made sure whenever I played a stroke play game, I took notes so the next time I found myself in a similar situation, I could make the necessary adjustments and improve my average.

As time went buy, my notes grew, insomuch as they filled a 3" 3-ring binder.  I felt there had to be a better way to organize my notes than the old, 3-ring binder method and dividers for each course.  So I started a search for a notes taking and retrieval program, but didn't have any luck in my search.

Fortunately, I'm a 2nd generation programmer, so I decided to write my own.  It's finally complete and works splendidly.  Here's a snapshot of the main menu:

It has evolved over time, and is now completely form/menu driven.

My question is, is there any fellow WGT golfers out there that would like to have a way to keep and retrieve notes?  I'm willing to share with those of you who would be interested.  It could prove to be a great tool for CC owners, since there is a method built in to share notes (Import/Export routine).

Here's a sample search.  I did a search on hole #4 at Best of Famous Holes for shots between 170 - 190 yards.  Here's the outcome:

This has been reduced to fit this forum post.

Edit:  29 December, 2013 ... I'm putting the link here for everyone's convenience:

Notes Program and Documentation

Edit: 4 January, 2014 ... In case the link above doesn't work, copy and paste this link to your browser:

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B8zXgJL4jcQeUzNMalJYSGxFbzQ&usp=sharing

If you find it worthy of a bump, please leave a comment within the thread.  My very best to each of you.

Kat ♥

• keidan
    311 Posts