The officials say they looked at the video of the drop while Tiger was on the 18th hole finishing his round.They decided there was no fault and did'nt even talk to Tiger about the drop.If they had decided right then and there that Tiger was at fault,they would of advised him of the two stroke penalty before he signed his card.So on that aspect the officials are at fault.
But for Tiger to admit in an interview after the match that he purposely dropped the ball a yard or two behind the divot mark of the first shot to improve his situation,he was clearly breaking the rule.He made a mistake,signed his card and should be disqualified.
But the officials decided he could play on with a two stroke penalty.
This is not over friends....
A mounth ago Stacey Lewis got a two stroke penalty for something that happened on the 14th hole;but the officials notified her on the 18th "before"she signed her card.
If she had signed her card,before the officials let her know she was going to be penalized,she would have been disqualified automaticaly