Forums

Help › Forums

Re: What About Physical Golf Sets?

Mon, Jan 24 2022 9:37 PM (8 replies)
  • Yrydys
    38 Posts
    Sat, Jan 8 2022 6:11 AM

Hello WGT Players,

Some of you may be real players, because I'm not. But playing that game makes me want to learn it for real, and I definitely need to go outside.

What would be a good set of clubs for a beginner?

GG

Sebas  

• bossbird
    2,192 Posts
    Sat, Jan 8 2022 5:13 PM

My advice would be to go  to a good local golf shop that has a driving range , and try out a number of different ones . No point in buying really expensive until you know if you can hit the ball . Take lessons with a pro and be guided. It’s a lot more difficult in real life than this game !! Nobody else can advise you , you have to get the feel of a club.

I started playing golf when I was about 11 , my parents never had much money and I had a second hand half set for men , and they were the old style blades . But it’s what I learnt with and when I bought a full set after joining a private club , I never could get on with ladies clubs I always had mans. It’s just what feels right . Well for me it was. 

• Yrydys
    38 Posts
    Sun, Jan 9 2022 7:32 AM

Well ty Bossbird, good stuff.

The thing is that online, its Callaway this and Callaway that for starters, and Titleist is way too expensive for me, and way to advanced.

• bossbird
    2,192 Posts
    Sun, Jan 9 2022 11:59 AM

To be honest you could probably find second hand traded in clubs in a good golf shop , and to start with they would be good enough. In my experience second hand clubs can be found really cheap , but until you know if you are going to take it up seriously , 2nd are good enough.

• KenBTEXAS
    284 Posts
    Sun, Jan 9 2022 12:53 PM

find a good used set, pawn shops have tons of golf clubs.

Also can check with local country clubs for used sets.

I have 2 sets I'd give you if you were in Texas.

• Cicero733
    2,293 Posts
    Sun, Jan 9 2022 1:12 PM