Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Driver Upgrade Suggestions

Wed, Apr 20 2022 11:36 PM (9 replies)
  • Gogsy1979
    32 Posts
    Tue, Jan 19 2021 4:07 AM

Hi my first post.

i recently started playing WGT again after a long layoff.

been progressing steadily and now at L48 Tour Pro.

my first stint I was prob a bit daft wasting credits on clubs and keen not to repeat. I am however now starting to struggle on longer Par 4’s off the tee with my L8 TM M2 driver at 235 yards.

would like suggestions on when to press the button and upgrade the driver. I recently took advantage of the Titleist free rentals and the difference to my game was amazing.

im ok with my L10 M2 irons for the moment, a little struggle on elevated greens but I can still typically score provided i am far enough down off the tee. I’ll likely hold onto these for another 10 levels or so.

im happy with my wedges in the L39 TM Miller Grind and have there so can switch to suit whatever gapping will work on next set of irons.

I bought the L35 Spider X putter as it’s the one I use in real life and I’m happy with it.

So driver I’m looking for suggestions to get me through the next phase of the game, ideally I think something around 270 but might I want to wait a few levels or should I upgrade now?

also on 3 woods I have the L8 TM M2 at 215. Am I ok to wait until 3 woods hit 250 or will I need an interim at about 230 which is available now?

Club purchases in my first stint maybe weren’t sensible but keen to be a bit more frugal this time while not spoiling my enjoyment so appreciate some advice on next upgrades.

• BPeterson8256
    2,903 Posts
    Tue, Jan 19 2021 12:26 PM

Level 55 Taylormade driver would last you quite awhile

Level 51 Maverik 3W would also be a good choice if you don't want to wait for a 250y club

Neither are a matter of "need", but both will bring more enjoyment to the game.

• BPeterson8256
    2,903 Posts
    Tue, Jan 19 2021 12:33 PM