Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Palm Desert Resort Country Club

rated by 0 users
Mon, Sep 10 2018 1:40 PM (3 replies)
  • srellim234
    2,077 Posts
    Thu, Jun 28 2018 4:45 PM

I've been playing this one for a few years now but just realized during today's round I never reviewed it here.

https://www.theresorter.com/golf/club-info

First off, very inexpensive when booked through golfnow.com. Our tee time was at 9:15 am,beating most of the summer heat in Palm Springs. $18.25 included 18 holes of play, cart with ice chest, bucket of practice balls for the range and a bottle of water for each player in the group. If we wanted to deal with the heat we could  have teed off at noon for only $14 with the same perks.

The course has been remodeled during the last few years in response to the drought here in southern California. The photos on the website were taken before the remodel which added a lot of strategic waste areas and removed a fair amount of grass. Existing lakes were left alone other than one on #14 which is still there but drained for watering the plants at that end of the course.

This is a very flat course with water and waste areas that require some thought and placement of  shots. Fairways have a few bare patches at this time of the year but the turf is kept soft so playing off those patches is not bad. It's not hardpan.

The course is part of a condominium complex so errant shots can hit condos but I would say a shot has to be VERY offline on almost all of the holes to hit one.

Greens roll smoothly and fairly; they have some deceptive breaks. It's fair to say there are no flat greens on this course but they are not extreme either. The greens are kept in very good shape and are very receptive on incoming approach shots.