Forums

Help › Forums

Re: Greetings to all

Wed, Mar 21 2018 7:17 PM (6 replies)
  • crmamx
    369 Posts
    Mon, Mar 19 2018 1:24 PM

Just joined and was asked to post an introduction.

My name is Curtis and I live in Fairhope, Al. I am 83, retired from the computer business and not in the best of health. Golf and fishing were my passions but had to give the up about 6 years ago. I retired at 62 and played golf 3 or 4 times a week and fished the rest of the time. I have played more courses in NC, Fl and Al than I count. I use to shoot in the 70's 30% of the time. I have probably fished every lake in Fl. The only hobby I can participate in now is flying nitro fueled model airplanes.

TWP46 who is a director here is a real life old time friend. We lived in the mountains of NC. We were discussing golf a couple of weeks ago and he got me interested in joining.

But already it is extremely frustrating. I am a math major/computer programmer. But this game is so inconsistent I just can't come up with the right algorithms to master it. Maybe in time I can get closer. I just upgraded to the best clubs that are available to me (the top of the line are locked) and of course that helped. And now I hate it that the balls don't last anytime and you have to keep buying new ones.

So I will keep working on my formulas and if I can get to where TWP46 is I will keep at it. If not, I will quit.

• Ladychipper
    22,630 Posts
    Tue, Mar 20 2018 8:40 AM

Hi Curtis,

Welcome to WGT/Top Golf! 

It takes time to master this game for sure so stick with it and read posts on how to do things in here.  I don't think there is any magic formula for playing just practice and read.

Nice bike by the way!

Best Wishes,

Marion :-)

• Mythanatos
    2,203 Posts
    Tue, Mar 20 2018 9:12 AM

Things to do:

1)find out what does full back spin (FBS) do to your iron yardages. this will change as your balls and irons change.