Forums

Help › Forums

Re: How do you calculate "rough" shots?

Fri, Oct 8 2021 9:54 AM (8 replies)
  • Golfindoog
    10 Posts
    Sat, Sep 16 2017 6:39 AM

Total newb question; when you get stuck in a "rough" and it says it's a "23-30%" lie, what does that mean? How to you adjust your shot from that? Hit that percentage MORE? Please help!

• K7JBQ
    1,468 Posts
    Sat, Sep 16 2017 9:12 AM

Here's a good place to start, straight from the FAQs:

http://www.wgt.com/forums/p/7840/49253.aspx

• YankeeJim
    25,827 Posts
    Sat, Sep 16 2017 9:30 AM

The Cliff notes version.....that % is how much of the ball is buried. 30-40, add 1 club. 40-50, add 2 clubs. Anything deeper than that, punch to the nearest fairway and minimize the damage. Spin on a shot is drastically reduced, if not altogether useless-expect roll.

• Woodie312
    671 Posts
    Sat, Sep 16 2017 10:17 AM

G,

I have read alot of the post concerning this question. They are for the most part good advice and have helpful tips in them. But remember that each club/ball combo reacts differently to any situation. Note that I said club not club set.

For this reason although I can use these diffent post as guides, I have taken the time to map my wedges and irons out. I freely admit that I have not spent equal time with all my clubs doing this, as I break my irons down into a few diffent categories: the zone clubs, the placement clubs, and the surgical instraments. Because of this I have spent varying amounts of time working on each group.

For the zone clubs (3wd - 5iron) I have done this only enough to see how spin and rough will effect the distance and any associated roll out. I use these clubs to get the ball to portion of the green or fairway. Due to the precision/forgiveness ratios multiplied by length of shot, any super precise result from these is a welcome bonus, however you wont get a chance at those results unless you really know what each of your clubs can and can't do.